For all new construction, if public water and public sewer are available, you must tie in.
The Community Development Department is located at:

Town of Summerdale
Community Development Department
502 W Lee Ave, Ste C.
Summerdale, AL 36580

Department: 251.989.6048

The Community Development Department consists of Building, Planning & Zoning, and Business Licensing Departments,
and is located within the Summerdale Municipal Complex and is responsible for developing & implementing the Town of
Summerdale’s Land Use Ordinance, Zoning Ordinances, and Building Ordinance.

Community Development Department Assistant, Kim Hatfield
For all applications for building permits, business license, planning & zoning, and to schedule inspections, contact Kim at:

Building Inspector/Code Enforcer, Jason McClinton
The Town of Summerdale is currently on the 2018 IBC/IRC. For specific code / permit inquiries:

Community Development Director, Chasity York Davis
The Town of Summerdale has a Planning Commission to review all subdivision submissions. We also have a Site Plan
Review Committee who reviews all commercial developments, as well as 3 or more family dwellings. For information
regarding Planning & Zoning or Site Plan, please contact:


2022 Building Supplement
Permit Application and Contractor Sheet
Sign Permit Application
Updated Subdivision and Development Regulations (2023)
Zoning Map
Zoning Ordinance

Planning Commission

The Town of Summerdale Planning Commission consist of nine members that are volunteers citizens that are appointed by the Mayor and Council. The commission holds at least one meeting each month. The duty of the Commission is to make and adopt a master plan for physical development of the Town. The commission shall adopt regulations governing subdivision of land within it jurisdiction. They also review zoning cases and make recommendations to the Town Council.

The Planning Commission meets the 3rd Thursday of each month at 6:00PM, at the Summerdale Municipal Complex. To be placed on the Commission agenda, please contact the Building and Planning Department for a list of meeting dates and deadlines.

Chairman: Robert Davis
Vice Chairman: Dana Thompson
Jason Dixon
Ken Gates
Eric Jackson
Cheryl Stewart
David Wilson
Jason McClinton

Chasity Y. Davis, Secretary

Site Plan Review Committee

The Town of Summerdale Site Plan Review Committee consists of four members. The Committee reviews all residential developments involving the construction of three (3) or more dwelling units and all commercial and industrial developments, a site plan must be reviewed by a committee appointed by the Planning Commission prior to the issuance of a building permit.

The Site Plan Review Committee meets the 2nd Thursday of every month at 6:00pm at the Summerdale Municipal Complex.

John Harper
Jason McClinton
Eric Butler
Lisa Dixon
Danny Scott

Zoning Board of Adjustment

The Summerdale Zoning Board of Adjustment consist of five members with two supernumerary members. The Zoning Board hears appeals to consider granting variances or special exceptions to the Zoning Ordinance.

When a meeting is called, the time and place will be posted at Town Hall. For more information, please contact Tiffany Lynn at 251-989-6202 or

Jacob Welch, Chairman
John Resmondo, Vice Chairman
Damon Willis
Keith Scott
Dottie Davis
Ernie Hodges                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Faith Wilson

Kimberly Hatfield, Secretary